Queensland Poetry Festival gets to know the Black Rider

Photo by Ryan Michael Swearingen, http://www.myeyemachine.com

I’m about a month and a half away from traipsing over to Brisbane for my song and dance at the Queensland Poetry Festival (QPF).

The good folk at QPF dropped in for a conversation recently and published an interview with me on their website.  You’ll see chit-chat similar to:

QPF: To borrow a recent question posed by Emily XYZ – What is the purpose of your writing?

Me: On some days I want my writing to be for the last of the red hot lovers – as maps or walking sticks or a drink of water for them road-weary gypsies. These are songs to sing along to as however small a help to be unyielding to despair.

On other days my writing’s the broken music creeping out of the grinderman’s decrepit organ and I’m the little monkey in a tiny, filthy suit, chained to the organ, dancing and begging.

Read my interview at Queensland Poetry Festival > select 2010 Festival > Artist Interviews > Jeremy Balius.

1 Comment

Filed under Australia, Brisbane, Interview, Poetry, Show, Spoken Word

One response to “Queensland Poetry Festival gets to know the Black Rider

  1. gnunn

    Roll on August… Sheish and I were jamming some bluesy tunes today. We are gonna spit sparks!

Leave a Reply

