Paint the leaves red, these cats hold hands

The cats who hold it down for the English-language / Japanese translation bi-lingual literary scene are one brazen gang of rowdies and ruffians led by a Battlecat-riding He-Man of a master of the universe, come down to us from Eternia pulsing from power granted by Grayskull.

I’m talkin’ ’bout editor and author Mississippi Kirk A.C. Marshall, of course.

With Australia’s first (and only) English-language / Japanese translation bilingual literary journal Red Leaves/ Koyo about to ignite the passions of young and fiesty men and sending fair women across two countrysides into a swoon, Mississippi croaked into my ear-piece demanding urgent lyrics for promotional purposes.  (A story of mine appears in the journal.)

Thus was born(e) I don’t hurry overnight, birthed onto a Red Leaves bookmark, demarcating words of mine translated into Japanese for the first time.

I don’t hurry

Way out past the ship masts
that look like fakirs’ beds
of needles in the harbour,

ship lights blink like Christmas lights
on the gutter of the sea.

Whoever hung those lights did a sh*tty job.

I would not be proud of my house
if my Christmas lights looked like that.

If we tried to swim out there, I’d say
There they go who know; they might not
have a dollar to their names,
but they sure got a lot of sense.

And everybody’d chuckle.

Let’s swim out into the night with
one stroke for the lonely-hearted,
one stroke for the left-behinds.

I’ll keep watch
to see if we make headway,
occasionally shout directions,
but my goodness, will they listen,
those fools?

Sweep me up wind and carry me within earshot.

I don’t hurry for heaven.
So what?  I don’t hurry.

4 Comments

Filed under Australia, Journal, Poetry, Translation

4 responses to “Paint the leaves red, these cats hold hands

  1. gnunn

    Yes JB, there is no need to hurry… I have longed for the leaves to turn read in my letter box for several seasons… but now the time is near. I look forward to holding hands with you in these pages.

  2. peter j

    aren’t you having it both ways?
    somebody has said we humans are contradictory
    cusses.
    OH REASON
    COLLAPSE AND REASSEMBLE.

Leave a Reply

